Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Wouldn’t Want to Trade Places With

Posted on Updated on

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created be gingerreadslainey on YouTube, but it is now managed by Thoughts on Tomes. The Goodreads group page can be found here.

This week, the topic is about characters that you wouldn’t want to be. Often times, we talk about characters that we would love to be, so this time, we’re switching it up. My mind went straight to fantasy, dystopian, and science fiction, so let’s get started.

Harry Potter from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

harry-potter-and-the-sorcerers-stone

Now, I love Harry Potter as much as the next person, but I would never want to be The Chosen One. There’s a lot riding on his shoulders. I’d love to be his friend, but I wouldn’t want that kind of responsibility of saving the world.

Mark Watney from The Martian by Andy Weir

the-martian

I cannot fathom being left alone on Mars to fend for myself. I would die so quickly. I just don’t have the kind of background to be able to take care of myself on another planet.

Henry from The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

the-time-travelers-wife

In this novel, Henry is forced from his family over and over again by something that he cannot control. That would just be a frustrating way to live, not being able to choose when and where you were going to be somewhere.

Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

the-hunger-games

Obviously, I don’t think that anyone would want to be a part of the Hunger Games, but I seriously do not have the skills to be able to survive that kind of event. Besides, with this one, it’s kind of like Harry Potter in the fact that they both are Chosen One plots. I’m not a center-of-attention girl, so it’s just not my type of thing. That’s why I read.

Jay Gatsby from The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

the-great-gatsby

Gatsby is a complicated character, and I can’t help but feel bad for him. He had all these idealistic hopes and dreams, and the world just wasn’t ready for it. So, no, I don’t want to be him.

 

Thanks for reading this list! I’d love to hear your opinions. What are the characters that you wouldn’t want to trade places with?

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Wouldn’t Want to Trade Places With

    Maryam (@thecurioussffreader) said:
    September 24, 2016 at 4:43 am

    I didn’t think of Harry Potter but thta’s definitely a good choice! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

      itsanovelty responded:
      September 24, 2016 at 7:51 am

      Thank you! I’m glad you agree.

      Like

    minsbookshelf said:
    September 26, 2016 at 1:35 am

    This is a good list! I completely agree, especially with The Martian one – I wouldn’t last 5 minutes by myself on Mars. A character I wouldn’t want to be is Ralph from Lord of the Flies, cause that poor kid goes through some traumatic shit and I couldn’t even begin to try to keep an island of preteen boys in order! x

    Liked by 1 person

      itsanovelty responded:
      September 26, 2016 at 6:57 am

      Thank you so much! I’m glad that you liked my list. While I haven’t read Lord of the Flies yet, based on what I’ve heard about it, I wouldn’t want to be those characters either.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

