On Audiobooks: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Posted on Updated on

yes-please

Saying “yes” doesn’t mean I don’t know how to say no, and saying “please” doesn’t mean I am waiting for permission.

Story

Yes Please is Amy Poehler’s autobiography, which compiles a mixture of actual advice, anecdotes, and general hilarity. I laughed out loud multiple times in the course of this book, so I view it as a success. It was a wonderful opportunity to get a glimpse inside of her head.

There were times within the story that I was confused because I didn’t have a lot of background information to understand exactly what certain things were as I’m not a huge comedic person, so that was disorienting. Her autobiography wasn’t linearized, tangents were common, and the flow of the story felt slightly off as well. However, I don’t think that those are reasons to stay away from this book if you are interested in it. I did still like it.

Speaker

Amy Poehler narrates her own book, and I really enjoyed the way she did it. While she was reading, I felt more like she was having a conversation with me rather than her just spouting off the facts. At different aspects of the story, she would have guest readers come on and add their two cents. I particularly loved when her parents gave different pieces of advice. I do think that her narration was a vital reason for why I enjoyed it as much as I did. I don’t think that I would’ve appreciated her story as much as if I had simply read it. (In general, I think that memoirs are quite powerful when it comes to audiobooks.)

Because what else are we going to do? Say no? Say no to an opportunity that may be slightly out of our comfort zone? Quiet our voice because we are worried it is not perfect? I believe great people do things before they are ready.

Summary

After completing this novel, I get the feeling that I’m not the intended audience for her autobiography. I honestly did not know a lot about her going into reading it. I just happened to see it available from my library’s audiobook selection, and I was vaguely interested because I have seen other bloggers and booktubers read it. I did enjoy it overall, but there were significant chunks where I was disengaged from what she was saying. I’m not familiar with the shows that she has done or the skits that she has performed or the people that she has worked with, so when she mentioned them like I was supposed to know what she was talking about, I was at a loss. Perhaps this book was written for people that have followed her career closely rather than a person with passing interest. However, I did find her stories to be quite inspiring, warm-hearted, and just generally optimistic. I adore her outlook and attitude about life.

A Note on this Series: On Audiobooks is going to be a new way of reviewing books on this blog, but just for the audiobooks that I finish. I’m going to be splitting the review into three sections, and I may change it as we go along. Let me know what you think of this structure in the comments.

Leave a Reply

