On Audiobooks: The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Posted on Updated on

the-false-prince

Valuable lessons were code words for pain that no one apologized for.

Story

I didn’t expect much walking into this novel. I have heard vaguely good things about it, but I didn’t expect it to sweep me away. It was bloody fantastic. The False Prince follows four boys as they compete for the opportunity to become the prince in a deadly plan forged by a man named Conner. Here, you grow especially close to the main character, Sage. He is so sarcastic and confident, and he is simply irresistible as a main character. For him alone, I would reread this book. (Seriously, I would. Actually, just thinking about this book makes me happy.)

The plot is a lot of fun. There are twists and turns that I definitely didn’t see coming, and there are also turns that I didn’t expect to be real. Just in general, I got everything I wanted from this book. Enjoyable and enthralling don’t seem to exactly measure up with the feeling that I have towards this book, but I’m not sure that any words will. The False Prince came into my life at just the right time when I was in the perfect mood for it.

Speaker

I don’t remember exactly who narrates this, but he is amazing at it. I really felt like he connected me to the character. He never made anything confusing, and he differentiated the major characters with various accents. I can’t really imagine anyone else doing it. I definitely think he is one of my favorite narrators thus far that I’ve heard with an audiobook.

Summary

I really enjoyed this novel, and I definitely recommend it in audiobook form. It’s very easy to follow with not a lot of extra, random details. It’s incredibly linearized, which helped me as the story moved forward. More than anything though, I think this book was just a wonderful surprise for me. It came into my life at the right time, and I just ate it up. I’m so nervous about overhyping this because I went into it expecting basically nothing, but I loved it. No shame.

A Note on this Series: On Audiobooks is going to be a new way of reviewing books on this blog, but just for the audiobooks that I finish. I’m going to be splitting the review into three sections, and I may change it as we go along. Let me know what you think of this structure in the comments.

Leave a Reply

