August 2015 Unhaul

Posted on Updated on

This is my very first unhaul on this blog. An unhaul consists of books that I’m getting rid of; although, in this case, all of the books listed below are no longer in my possession. A few days ago, I went to my local, independent bookstore that buys used books for store credit, and they bought these books from me. Just fair notice: there might be a part two to this eventually, for I still have books that I’d like to get rid of.

First, I’d like to say that I’m not trying to be intentionally rude about any books that you may or may not like. This is just my personal opinion.

A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

A Wicked Thing

This book came out in February of this year, and I read it in April. It’s a Sleeping Beauty retelling, and it fell incredibly flat for me. Perhaps, it is because I had such high expectations, but I was disappointed in almost every single facet of this novel. I didn’t care for the characters because there was little to no development, and I disliked the turn of the plot near the end of the novel. In short, I have no desire to continue reading this series, so I decided to get the book off my shelves.

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

Ship Breaker

I can’t say anything really negative about this book because I never finished it. I had tried numerous times to finish the book, and eventually, I lost interest.

The Hunt and The Prey by Andrew Fukuda

The Hunt  The Prey

The Hunt and The Prey are the first two books in The Hunt trilogy. I have read both, and for me, they were so slow. I just didn’t particularly care for what was happening, and I don’t plan on ever finishing out the trilogy. When a book actually makes you want to sleep instead of read, there’s a problem, and that’s exactly what The Prey did to me.

How to Love by Katie Cotugno

How to Love

This is the only book on this list that actively makes me angry. This is a YA romance novel, and considering I despised the romance, I don’t like this book at all. Why anyone would like or put up with the love interest in this novel—yet along believe what he says—is beyond me.

What books have you read that other people have enjoyed but it didn’t really work for you?

Leave a comment