June 2016 Book Haul

Posted on Updated on

More accurately, this is a cumulative haul for the past several months. I am very excited about these books. So much so that I’m having a hard time deciding what to read next, but that seems to always be an issue with book lovers.

Here we go!

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You

Right now, this book is extraordinarily popular. It was released as a movie in early June, and if I want to see it in theaters, I need to finish this book soon. I’m actually currently reading this one. For the most part, I went into this one blind. I don’t know a whole lot about it except it is about a woman caring for a disabled man, and then, romance happens? I’m not sure; we’ll see.

The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

The Rose & the Dagger

This is the sequel to The Wrath & the Dawn—a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. I’m a little anxious about this one because while most people fell completely in love with the first one, I wasn’t one hundred percent sold. However, I absolutely loved the romance, so I’m hoping that this next one continues with that thread.

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

The Darkest Part of the Forest

I’m not a hundred percent sure what this one is about, but there are faeries involved. In the middle of the forest, there is a boy sleeping inside of a glass coffin, and one day, he wakes up. While my description is lacking, I have faith in Holly Black’s abilities to tell a better story than I.

Never Never by Brianna R. Shrum

Never Never

This book is a Peter Pan retelling, and I’m so excited about this one. I absolutely love Peter Pan, so if you know of any other retellings, please put them in the comments! This particular one is Captain Hook’s side of the story about why he started hating Peter Pan and his quest to destroy him.

Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer

Missoula

The subtitle for this book pretty much clearly explains what it’s about. Missoula tracks the town of Missoula, Montana’s sexual assault cases for four years as a case study for a national problem across the United States. Krakauer specifically explores the cases of five women in detail of what they went through. I think it is important to be informed about the realities of what is facing women today, and reading this nonfiction book will be a step in the right direction.

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

Nerve

This one! My goodness, it looks amazing. If you have not yet seen the movie trailer, you can find that here. It’s about a girl that decides to play a game called Nerve—an online game of dares. Once in, they cannot escape, and she has to fight for her life with a teammate/love interest. If the movie trailer is anything to go by, I will absolutely love this, but regardless, I do plan to see the movie once I finish this book.

Wanderlost by Jen Malone

Wanderlost

This one sounds like a cute, little contemporary. Basically, a girl unexpectedly has to take over her sister’s tour guide job in a foreign city. She has no idea what she is doing, and to make matters more interesting, the boss’s son comes along for the ride. I’m assuming romance ensues. I picked this one up because it looks super cute, and it sounds a lot like the movie My Life in Ruins—which by the way, if you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it!

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

House of Leaves

I can’t really say anything about this one because I’m not one hundred percent sure what it is about, but I have it. I’ll eventually give it a go.

2 thoughts on “June 2016 Book Haul

    cupcakesandmachetes said:
    July 4, 2016 at 10:03 am

    Nice haul! That Never Never one sounds very intriguing and Jon Krakauer is a great writer.

    Like

      itsanovelty responded:
      July 4, 2016 at 10:06 am

      Thank you! Peter Pan retellings are my absolute favorite!

      Like

Leave a comment